Social media and Tech Updates

Translate

Did you post 'privacy notice' on Facebook ? It's just a hoax, don't waste your time


You might have noticed that some ( many ) of your facebook friends have posted legal disclaimer( message ) on Facebook timeline. 
Message is like this:
From Monday, June 27, 2016, 3:20 PM, Indian standard time, I don't give Facebook the permission to use my pictures, my information or my publications, both of the past as the future, mine or those where I show up. By this statement, I give my notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, give, sell my information, photos or take any other action against me on the basis of this profile and / or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308-1 1 308-103 and the Rome statute).
Note: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version.
If you do not publish a statement at least once, you've given the tacit agreement allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the updates of state of profile.
Do not share. You have to copy.

The number of message are increasing on people’s Facebook news feeds, Because it urges people to copy and paste it into their own statuses and people are doing so. And it's not the first time when people are doing so. it has happened before.

It's a pointless discussion. Facebook said in a 2012 post, "Anyone who uses Facebook owns and controls the content and information they post, as stated in our terms. They control how that content and information is shared. That is our policy, and it always has been". Facebook titled it "Copyright Meme Spreading on Facebook" And facebook called it a "rumor".

And you should also know that, taking control of online identity is not as simple as making ( copy and paste) a legal declaration on Facebook wall. When you first signed up to use Facebook, you agreed to the company’s Terms of Service with privacy policy. And  your agreement to those updated terms is implicit, when Facebook updates its 'Terms of Service'.

You also agreed for,"a non-exclusive, transferable, sub-licensable, royalty-free, worldwide license to use any IP content that you post on or in connection with Facebook". Means, you have already gave rites to use your contents. 

So,  how can you save you privacy ? 
You should avoid posting the content, or more carefully control your privacy settings.

And, If you don’t agree with Facebook’s policies. Not sign up for a Facebook, and if you already have a facebook account - Delete your Facebook account. And please stop fooling yourself. 

No comments:

Post a Comment